Moving from Apple Router to Mikrotik

Its been a long time since i have been blogging. Since i have some free time, i thought of sharing my experience in using Mikrotik Router.

I have been using Apple Extreme router since 2008 and it was able to handle all devices since last year. But recently due to addition of new devices at home, it was not able to handle more clients. Even after updating it with latest firmware, i have seen lot of connections being dropped and bandwidth issues etc., I am not saying anything bad about the router, but it is due to more number of clients being connected to the router.

Also another reason i started looking for another router is that in recent days i have started to learn and play around more about cloud related technologies , applications. So i started looking for a router or software that helps me a lot in configuring a network with ease. Initially I tried with pfsense which helped me a lot to configure and understand basic networking setup at home. But one challenge that i faced with pfsense was i was looking for wireless as well. Even though pfsense has lot of support in adding wireless cards, but i had issues in adding antenna, connectors etc., which i had difficulties.

Then I wanted to try with Ubiquiti router, so I bought the cheapest UniFi Router  and configured it as main router. Yes it has met my requirements such as network configuration, wifi connectivity, etc., With respect to UI, configuring it etc., but i felt the price range was too high for what i was looking for. So i continued my search and i was looking for router with lot of flexibility in selecting different hardware configuration, medium with respect to price range, easy to replace with components such as wifi cards, hardware support etc.,

After analysis i have found out that Mikrotik and RouterOS would be good fit for me. So i wanted to buy two routers, one would be my main router which connects to internet and another router/switch that can handle my internet network.

In order to make my main router to be future proof for long run, i wanted to buy/build an x86 based router. After research i found that Intel 82583V has good support for RouterOS. So i bought one from amazon that has this LAN.

https://www.amazon.com/KINGELE-Aluminum-Ethernet-Controller-Firewall/dp/B07F67JLKB/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=82583+Intel&qid=1554467540&s=gateway&sr=8-1

If you have a PC with more ram and processing power, it helps to build router with adblocker etc.,

I followed below blog to install RouterOS.

http://srijit.com/how-to-run-mikrotik-64-bit-routeros-on-your-pc/

In future i will add more blog post in setting up the router.

Leave a comment