Configuring Raspberry Pi Wireless with Realtek RTL8188CUS

After suggestion from one of my friend who uses Raspberry Pi for his experiments, I bought one. I am running all my downloads through my Pi without having my laptop running for long hours earlier. In order to make my Pi connected to a my airport drive I bought Netgear Wireless USB Micro adapter.

After connecting this to my Pi, as mentioned in lot of forums I used lsusb command to list down the usb devices connected to my Pi. It listed down the device as below

Bus 001 Device 004: ID 0846:9041 NetGear, Inc. WNA1000M 802.11bgn [Realtek RTL8188CUS]

But when I checked the ip address using (ifconfig) of the wlan0 devices, I noticed that it doesn’t had it.

In order to have the device connected to my Airport Extreme, I changed the /etc/network/interfaces file as below

auto lo

iface lo inet loopback
iface eth0 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug wlan0

auto wlan0

iface wlan0 inet dhcp
wpa-ssid “XXXXXX-XXXXXX”
wpa-psk “XXXXXXXXX”

Replace the XXXX in wpa-ssid with your wireless network name and XXXXX in wpa-psk with the password. After making changes reboot the device or reboot your network service. Now you should have connected your Raspberry Pi wirelessly to your network.

One Response to “Configuring Raspberry Pi Wireless with Realtek RTL8188CUS”


Leave a comment